Product Review: Zen Guru Acupressure Mat & Pillow

zenguruThis little product proves that yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus.

I was fortunate enough to be gifted this marvel late last year by my  mother.  I have had back and neck issues since a car accident (don’t you just love drivers on their cell phones!)  and had begun experiencing extreme fatigue and joint aches and pains last fall.  My mother put her Google skills to work and discovered Zen Guru and their wonder mat.

Where to begin?  If you’ve ever had acupuncture and/or a massage this mat is like combining the two, minus needles and minus another person.  The acupressure points are just right on the mat and the pillow, also with acupressure points, is an added bonus.  The pillow justifies purchase alone compared to others but Zen Guru also includes magnet therapy (the orange sections on the mat in the picture.)

zenguru2I won’t lie.  The first time I used it, it was uncomfortable.  I was muttering “ow, shit!” under my breath and trying to find a way to lie down without feeling pinched or stabbed.  A tip – – the best thing is to just lay down and be still.  Another good tip is to put a very light cover on the neck roll (I used an old cloth diaper.)  I found the pressure points too intense on the neck roll but eventually came to love the ones for the body.

Because the mat comes with its own carry bag, I simply take my mat out, unroll it and place it on my living room floor.  By doing so, I can watch t.v., which takes my mind off the clock.  Frankly, that was only an issue the first time I used it – – I was concentrating on going a good 15 minutes.  That was also the only time I have not fallen asleep while using this mat.  Yes, it is that good.

Want to know about my fatigue, back and neck pain?  Okay, maybe you really don’t but I’m going to tell you anyhow.  My fatigue is severely diminished.  My back and neck pain has been minimized; any time it begins to bother me, I pull out my trusty mat and it’s gone within 15 minutes.  Thank you, Zen Guru!  If you’re into reflexology, there is a handy reflexology foot chart on the back of the mat.

Zen Guru says that this mat will alleviate stress, improve your sleep and digestion and increase your levels of endorphin.  Seriously, you cannot go wrong with that.

My mat was purchased on Amazon and runs around $43 if you’re a Prime member. Money well spent.

Disclaimer:  I was not paid, bribed, blackmailed or otherwise endorsed for this review.  This product was and is owned by me.  I have no objections to Zen Guru contacting me to be a spokeswoman, however.

Leave a Reply

